White out for life

What if we had a correction pen for life? That’s the question a friend of mine recently asked me. My initial response was obviously: “That would be awesome!” But would it really?

Life is an enigma of sorts to me. Just when you think you have it all figured out it throws you a curve-ball you can’t really manipulate to your favour. We all have our good days and our bad days. It’s those bad days that we’d so desperately want to turn around. I can’t count the number of times I’ve wished I could turn back time and do some things differently. I think it’s in our human nature to want what we can’t have or to think that the alternative is better than our reality.

But if I really think about it, everything I’ve gone through in life has brought me to this moment in time and made me who I am. Every experience, good or bad, was God’s way of producing my character. If I hadn’t “failed” my primary exams, I wouldn’t have wound up in the high school I did. If I hadn’t gone there I wouldn’t have discovered myself as I did or met the most amazing best friend anyone could ask for. If I had gotten my dream of leaving the country after high school, I wouldn’t have gotten to meet some people who have changed the course of my life. If I hadn’t experienced rejection and heartache, I never would have appreciated the gift of having someone who genuinely cares.

At the end of the day, I believe that all things work together for good; that nothing happens by chance or out of turn; that even the parts of our story that we’d rather do without fit perfectly into the bigger picture to produce a beautiful portrait.

So in answer to the question : I wouldn’t use it because my story needs those little imperfections to make it a breathtaking work of art.

6 Comments

  1. Ciiru said,

    February 13, 2012 at 6:10 pm

    well, thank God you ‘failed’ 🙂
    Very well thought out and put together.

  2. Kharay said,

    February 13, 2012 at 8:36 pm

    “All things work together for good”
    One of the greatest life lessons and until God reveals this to an individual, they will ever be trapped in their past, their failures and weaknesses. It’s always good to thank God in all circumstances.
    Real nyc job ryt hia 🙂

  3. February 14, 2012 at 9:25 am

    well, (we) thank God you ‘failed’ 🙂
    Very well thought out and put together.
    I CONCURR

  4. George K. said,

    February 14, 2012 at 5:25 pm

    failure: life’s lessons on change for improvement. Really nice article

  5. Sheena said,

    February 15, 2012 at 10:48 am

    this piece is amazing! 🙂 I’m glad God brought our paths together too…:D

    don’t forget to check out my blog as well!

  6. Stephanie wakaba said,

    February 15, 2012 at 5:34 pm

    =)


Leave a Reply

