Healing

What do you do when you feel like there is no more hope?

What do you do when all you can feel is pain?

What do you do when your heart breaks into so many pieces that there’s nothing left to hold?

Answer: I don’t know either.

I think, however, that all we can really do is go on

Crying could help let off a load but it won’t heal the hurt

Remaining in despair only leads to more pain than anyone should be allowed to bear

Blaming and hating may bring temporary relief but they’re no match for the looming slump.

At the end of the day we realize something:

The sun still rises bright and early

The trees still sway with the wind

The sky is still blue and breathtakingly beautiful

Life still goes on.

So instead of wallowing in self-pity

Instead of asking God why

I choose to be happy

I will no longer be a slave to misery

I will embrace the love of God that never fails me

Because when all is said and done

I am His and He is mine

Nothing and no-one can take that from me.

So as I sleep and as I rise

I will look upon all the good things in my life

And I shall dwell no more on the have-nots

For though I may not have the one thing I thought I wanted

I have so much more than I could have ever hoped for.

1 Comment

  1. Stephanie wakaba said,

    February 15, 2012 at 5:47 pm

    This reminds me of the gratitude stone in ‘The Secret’


Leave a Reply

