Fresh Start

It’s a new year!!!

I know that’s stating the obvious but it feels good just to remind myself. It’s like someone has scraped off everything else and given me a clean slate. The beauty of it is that I can do whatever I want with it. I can’t really do much about 2011-it came and went;there were good times and bad;but that’s all in the past. It’s a closed chapter that belongs in the category of ‘the irreversibles’ and there’s little else I can do but reflect on it.

There’s something really beautiful about the 2nd. Sadly this isn’t the part where I spew forth various biblical references that allude to its religious significance.I don’t think there are that many but I just love the 2nd.I’m not just saying this because I was born on the 2nd of October but there’s just something refreshingly beautiful about it. It doesn’t bear the pressure of being first yet it still holds the allure of being right at the top.

This year has been highly anticipated the world over for various reasons. For some it signifies the start of something new. For this nation, it’s an election year we’re not quite sure what to feel about. For others, it is presumably the year when the world will come to an end(not too sure how i feel about this yet but that’s a story for another day.

But for me, as this 2nd comes to an end, I can’t help but feel the building up of hope within because, in my opinion, the new year has finally begun, and with it the beginning of a new day, new year, a new season. HAPPY 2012!

1 Comment

  1. Stephanie wakaba said,

    February 15, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    Fluent writing, Ruth.


Leave a Reply

